8 Best Electric Bikes for Heavy Riders by Weight Limit

Bicycling Land is reader-supported. When you buy through links on this page we may earn an affiliate commission, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

A listing says "450 lb capacity," and you assume that means you. Often it means you, your backpack and whatever sits on the rack, all added together. The maker’s rider limit can be far lower. Shopping for the best electric bike for heavy riders starts with that gap.

Six of the eight bikes below list between $1,299 and $1,999, and several are marked down from higher list prices. This list is for riders from roughly 250 lb up, plus anyone who hauls kids, groceries or tools. I’ve ordered it by official payload (the total weight the maker says the bike can carry), highest first.

Prices as of October 2026.

Quick picks

  • Best for 400 lb and up: Velotric Nomad 2
  • Best for a big rider who also hauls cargo: Lectric XPedition2
  • Best budget step-through with long range: Addmotor GRAOOPRO
  • Best polished cargo bike: Aventon Abound LR
  • Best fat-tire value: Himiway Zebra (D5)
  • Best for steep, rough ground: Himiway D7 Pro (Cobra Pro)
  • Best backcountry bike under 350 lb: Bakcou Mule
  • Best folder if you pack light: Lectric XP4 750

Not sure where to start? Add your weight, clothes and everything you carry, then find your tier.

  • Up to 300 lb loaded: every bike here clears it, but the 330 lb XP4 and 350 lb Mule leave only 30 to 50 lb of headroom. For an electric bike for adults at 300 lbs, I’d start at 400 lb ratings.
  • 300 to 350 lb loaded: the Zebra, Cobra Pro, Abound LR or GRAOOPRO. The XPedition2 works only if you stay under its 330 lb rider limit.
  • 400 lb and up: the Nomad 2 is the only bike here with real margin.

Velotric Nomad 2 Fat Tire Ebike

Velotric Nomad 2 Fat Tire Ebike
Image: Velotric

If you want an electric bike for a 400 lb person, or an e-bike with 500 lb capacity, start here. Velotric rates the Nomad 2 for 505 lb of maximum payload. That’s 55 lb above the next bike on my list, and it costs $1,999.

The rack is rated for only 66 lb, so nearly all that capacity is for you. It’s a rider’s bike more than a hauler. A 400 lb rider with 30 lb of gear leaves about 75 lb of headroom.

The motor is a 750W hub (1,300W peak) that makes 90 Nm of torque, the twisting force that gets a loaded bike rolling uphill. A torque sensor reads how hard you pedal and scales the help to match. That makes starts on a hill smooth and predictable. The battery is 48V 14.7Ah, or 705.6 Wh. (Wh, or watt-hours, is the battery’s energy: bigger means more range.) Velotric claims up to 65 miles.

It’s a Class 3 bike, meaning pedal assist up to 28 mph. At that speed, a full load puts roughly 580 lb in motion (505 lb plus the bike’s 75 lb). Stopping that takes good brakes, and Velotric lists Tektro hydraulic discs without naming the rotor size. Ask before you order. If your city is tightening Class 3 rules, check local law too.

Fat 26×4.0 Kenda tires, a 100mm suspension fork and a suspension seatpost come standard. So do lights, turn signals, fenders and a MIK-HD rack. Two frame sizes, step-thru and high-step, fit riders from about 5’2" to 6’5". Velotric’s page has also shown a promotion with a free upgraded battery, so check it at checkout.

  • Watch: 75 lb makes it a two-person lift onto a car rack.
  • Watch: 65 miles is a maximum, so expect less with a heavy load on hills.

See Velotric’s site

Lectric XPedition2 Cargo eBike

Lectric XPedition2 Cargo eBike
Image: Lectric

The catch comes first: 450 lb is not what you can weigh. Lectric rates the XPedition2 for 450 lb total payload, with a 330 lb rider limit and a 300 lb rack limit. Put a 330 lb rider on it and 120 lb is left for everything else. The rider and rack maximums can’t both be used at once.

So it suits a larger rider who also carries real cargo or a passenger, and who stays under 330 lb. If you’re near that number with no gear, a bike with more headroom is the better buy. The single-battery version lists at $1,399 (list $1,745), the lowest price of any 400-lb-plus bike here.

The 750W hub makes 85 Nm (1,310W peak). The base 48V 13Ah battery (624 Wh) is rated up to 60 miles, and longer-range configurations cost more. The bike weighs 65 lb without batteries, and each battery adds 9 lb. Frame fit is wide, from about 4’11" to 6’5".

It rides on small 20 x 2.5 inch street tires, so rough pavement feels busier than on a fat-tire bike. Brakes are hydraulic with 180mm rotors. A 50mm fork and a 40mm suspension seatpost help, and it carries UL 2271 and 2849 certification. The hinged kickstand takes patience to set up.

Check price at Lectric Check price on Amazon

Addmotor GRAOOPRO Cargo eBike

Addmotor GRAOOPRO Cargo eBike
Image: Addmotor

Low speed is the GRAOOPRO’s quiet advantage. Its top speed is 20 mph, which suits a 70 lb bike carrying a heavy load: less speed means less work for the brakes. Addmotor lists a 450 lb total payload and a 150 lb rear rack for $1,499 (list $2,299). The step-through frame makes mounting easy.

A 750W rear hub runs on a 48V 20Ah Samsung battery (960 Wh), UL 2271 certified. Addmotor claims up to 105 miles on one battery and 210 with the dual-battery option. Treat those as best-case figures. At 300 lb or more, the real number will be well under.

The tires are mixed: 24×2.5 up front and 20×3 in back. A bigger front tire helps with bumps, but you’ll stock two different tubes. The fork has 80mm of travel and the rotors are 180mm.

Two things to do before ordering. Check the height range on Addmotor’s fit chart, because this is the pick I’d verify first if you’re tall. And read the warranty terms. It comes with 2 years and free shipping to the contiguous US, but buyers complain about Addmotor’s customer service. Keep your order paperwork and photos.

Check price on Amazon

Aventon Abound LR Cargo Ebike

Aventon Abound LR Cargo Ebike
Image: Aventon

The Abound is the XPedition2’s more polished, pricier cousin. Aventon lists the LR at $1,999 with a 440 lb total limit and a 143 lb rack. The shorter Abound SR costs $1,899 and carries the same 440 lb. It weighs 80 lb against the LR’s 88 lb, and that 8 lb matters when you lift it.

The 750W Shengyi hub (1,188W peak, 80 Nm) runs on a 36V 20Ah battery (733 Wh) with LG cells, claimed at up to 60 miles. Tires are 20 x 3.0, brakes are Tektro hydraulic discs, and a roughly 51mm fork plus a suspension seatpost soften the ride.

It handles well and stays maneuverable when loaded. A long rack and running boards come standard, along with a torque sensor, integrated lights, turn signals and a theft-deterrent app. That’s why I’d pay the extra over the XPedition2 if you carry kids or gear every day.

  • Watch: the extended stem has felt wobbly under heavy cargo on earlier versions. Tighten it and recheck after the first ride.
  • Watch: riders in US men’s size 12 shoes or larger may scrape heels on the running boards.
  • Watch: at 88 lb it’s the heaviest bike here.

See Aventon’s site

Himiway Zebra (D5) Fat Tire eBike

Himiway Zebra (D5) Fat Tire eBike
Image: Himiway

Three annoyances first. The stock seat is uncomfortable when you pedal. The torque sensor sometimes gives too much or too little power. And the step-over version is out of stock in every color right now, so the step-thru is the one you can order. If you swap the saddle, check the new one’s weight rating.

If you can live with those, the Zebra is the e-bike for big men who want a stable fat-tire bike without paying $3,000. Himiway rates it for 400 lb on a thicker frame. It lists at $1,499 (list $2,299).

A 750W hub with a torque sensor runs on a 48V 20Ah Samsung/LG battery (960 Wh). Himiway claims up to 80 miles, though its spec table says 60 to 80. I’d plan on the low end or below. Kenda 26 x 4.0 tires, hydraulic brakes, lights, fenders and a rear rack are included. Himiway claims 79 lb with the battery, and you’ll feel that on climbs.

See Himiway’s site

Himiway D7 Pro (Cobra Pro) Mid-Drive eBike

Himiway D7 Pro (Cobra Pro) Mid-Drive eBike
Image: Himiway

At $3,999, the Cobra Pro costs about double the Zebra, and it’s for a specific rider: tall, heavy and headed for steep or rough ground. Himiway rates it for 400 lb. The reason to pay more is the motor and suspension.

A mid-drive motor sits at the pedals and drives the chain, so it uses the bike’s gears to climb. The Bafang 1000W unit (1,300W peak) makes 160 Nm, and it climbs very well. Suspension is full: a four-bar rear linkage plus a 150mm inverted air fork. Tires are 4.8-inch CST, the widest of the group. Top speed is 28 mph.

Plan on 55 to 65 miles from the 960 Wh battery, not the claimed 80. If you’re also shopping for electric mountain bikes, this one belongs on that list.

Two drawbacks. The 180mm brake rotors are undersized for this much weight and power, so I’d budget for bigger ones. And shifting under load wears the cassette (the rear gear cluster) quickly. Ease off the pedals when you change gears.

See Himiway’s site

Bakcou Mule eBike

Bakcou Mule eBike
Image: Bakcou

Skip the Mule unless you hunt or ride backcountry and stay under 350 lb with gear. That’s the second-lowest capacity in this list, and the entry price is the highest: from $4,799 with the 17.5Ah battery. Some colors have been on sale at $4,079, and the 25Ah pack runs up to $5,199.

For that money you get a Bafang M620 Ultra mid-drive (160 Nm, 1,500W peak), a 100mm air fork and a 67 lb frame without the battery. Claimed range is 65 miles, and the big battery options help off-road. I find the price steep for a 350 lb rating and a one-year warranty. Everyone else should look higher up this list.

See Bakcou’s site

Lectric XP4 750 Folding eBike

Lectric XP4 750 Folding eBike
Image: Lectric

Pick the XP4 only if you pack light and need a bike that folds into a car. Its 330 lb payload is the lowest in this guide. With the 150 lb rack full, only 180 lb is left for the rider. Lectric charges $1,299 (list $1,752).

The 750W hub (1,310W peak, 85 Nm) pulls from a 48V 17.5Ah battery (840 Wh), claimed at up to 85 miles. Top speed is 28 mph. Brakes are hydraulic and the tires are 3 inches wide. It climbs hills well and feels steady for a folder.

The bike weighs 62 lb without the battery and 9 lb more with it. That’s heavy for a folder, so test the lift before you commit. The frame and fork can touch when folded, so pad the contact point. For other options, see our folding e-bikes roundup.

Check price at Lectric

How to choose a heavy duty electric bike

The headline payload gets the attention. The parts bolted to the frame decide how a bike ages under load. These are the checks I’d make, in roughly the order things wear out.

Payload, rider limit and rack limit

Payload is the total weight the bike is rated to carry: you, your clothes and helmet, a backpack, anything on the rack. A rider limit caps body weight alone, and a rack limit caps only the rack. Only Lectric states a separate rider limit (330 lb on the XPedition2). For every other bike here, subtract your gear from the payload to see your real number.

My rule: payload should be at least your loaded weight plus 50 lb of headroom. The table below puts the numbers side by side.

The eight at a glance

BikePayloadRider limitWeightTorqueBatteryRotorsPrice
Velotric Nomad 2505 lbNot stated75 lb90 Nm705.6 WhNot listed$1,999
Lectric XPedition2450 lb330 lb65 lb, no battery85 Nm624 Wh180mm$1,399
Addmotor GRAOOPRO450 lbNot stated70 lbNot listed960 Wh (48V 20Ah)180mm$1,499
Aventon Abound LR440 lbNot stated88 lb80 Nm733 WhNot listed$1,999
Himiway Zebra (D5)400 lbNot stated79 lbNot listed960 WhNot listed$1,499
Himiway Cobra Pro400 lbNot statedNot listed160 Nm960 Wh180mm$3,999
Bakcou Mule350 lbNot stated67 lb, no battery160 Nm17.5 to 25 AhNot listedfrom $4,799
Lectric XP4 750330 lbNot stated62 lb, no battery85 Nm840 WhNot listed$1,299

Where a weight excludes the battery, add roughly 9 lb for a Lectric pack. With the battery, the bikes with listed weights run from about 70 lb (GRAOOPRO) to 88 lb (Abound LR).

Frame and spokes

Aluminum or steel can carry a heavy rider if the maker rates the frame for it. Our guide to frame materials covers the trade-offs. The rating is what counts. Spokes are the thin wires linking hub to rim. Under a heavy rider they carry the load, and the rear wheel works hardest.

On the hub-motor bikes, the motor sits inside a wheel, so a broken spoke is a shop job rather than a roadside fix. The Cobra Pro and Mule are mid-drive, which keeps the wheels ordinary. Look for thicker spokes (a lower gauge number means thicker wire), a higher spoke count and double-wall rims. Spec sheets rarely say, so ask the maker in writing. Have a shop check spoke tension after your first month, because new wheels settle.

Replacement tires matter too. The Nomad 2 and Zebra use 26×4.0, the Cobra Pro uses 4.8-inch, and the GRAOOPRO needs two sizes. We’re working on a guide to spoke count and thickness.

Hydraulic disc brakes and rotor size

Hydraulic disc brakes push fluid through a sealed line, so they stop a heavy bike with less hand force than cable brakes. The rotor is the metal disc the pads squeeze. A bigger rotor sheds heat better. On long descents a small rotor overheats and the brakes fade, meaning they weaken as they get hot.

I’d treat 180mm as the minimum for a 75 lb bike and 203mm as better. Of the eight, the XPedition2, GRAOOPRO and Cobra Pro list 180mm rotors. None lists 203mm. If you live somewhere hilly, plan to upgrade the rotors, and the Cobra Pro is where I’d do it first.

Torque sensor or cadence sensor

A cadence sensor switches the motor on when the pedals turn, however hard you push. A torque sensor measures your effort and scales help to match, so the bike feels natural and uses less battery on easy stretches. With a heavy load, that means smoother starts on hills. The Nomad 2, Abound LR and Zebra have torque sensors, though the Zebra’s can give too much or too little help.

Fat-tire pressure

Fat tires run at low pressure, and the maker prints a minimum-to-maximum range on the sidewall. Heavier riders should run toward the upper half of it, without passing the maximum. Too soft and the tire squirms or the rim hits the ground on bumps. Too hard and the ride gets harsh. Check pressure with a gauge every week or two, since big tires lose air slowly and squeezing won’t tell you.

Seatpost and saddle limits

Payload is a system number. A suspension seatpost has a spring and moving parts, and its limit can sit below the frame’s rating. The Nomad 2, XPedition2 and Abound LR all use one. Ask the maker for the seatpost’s own rating before you buy. Saddle rails and any replacement saddle have limits too.

Getting on, and step-through frames

Step-thru frames drop the top tube so you swing no leg over it, which helps when the bike is loaded or you’re stiff. The Nomad 2 and Zebra come in both versions, and the GRAOOPRO is step-through. Confirm the step-thru carries the same rating as the high-step. Our picks of step-through e-bikes go deeper. If balance is the worry, a three-wheel electric bike removes it.

Real range at 300 lb and up

Every range number above is a maker’s claim, made with a lighter rider. My planning rule, not a maker figure: count on about 70 percent of the claimed miles at 300 lb loaded, and about half at 400 lb or on steady hills. That turns the Nomad 2’s 65 miles into roughly 35 to 45. Bigger Wh helps, and our guide to battery types explains the cells.

Warranty and support

Heavier riders are the most likely to need spokes, brake parts or a warranty claim. Addmotor lists a 2-year warranty and free shipping to the contiguous US. Bakcou’s is one year. For the rest, get the terms in writing, and ask specifically whether wheels, rims and frame are covered. At 65 to 88 lb, line up a second person for assembly and the first lift onto a rack.

Questions heavy riders ask

Can a 300 lb person ride an ebike?

Yes. The motor does the climbing, so weight hurts less than on a regular bike. Pick a bike rated for 400 lb or more, with hydraulic disc brakes and a seatpost rating you’ve confirmed. The Zebra at $1,499 or the Abound LR at $1,999 are good starting points.

What kind of electric bike is best for a heavy man?

A hub-motor fat-tire or cargo-style bike with a payload of 400 lb or more is the safest bet. Tall riders have choices. The Nomad 2 fits about 5’2" to 6’5", and the XPedition2 fits about 4’11" to 6’5", though its rider limit is 330 lb.

Which electric bike is best for heavy weight riders?

The Velotric Nomad 2 has the highest rating here at 505 lb. For value, the Himiway Zebra at $1,499 or the GRAOOPRO at $1,499 offer 400 and 450 lb. For steep terrain I’d pick the Cobra Pro and plan to upgrade its brakes.

Is there an electric bike for a 400 lb person?

Yes: the Nomad 2. A 400 lb rider with 30 lb of gear is 430 lb, and its 505 lb rating leaves about 75 lb of headroom. The 450 lb bikes leave only 20 lb, and the XPedition2’s rider limit is 330 lb.

Is there an e-bike with 500 lb capacity?

The Nomad 2, at 505 lb, is the only one here. That figure counts everything on the bike, so a 500 lb rider with gear would be over it. I wouldn’t call any bike in this guide right for that rider.

Photo: RIDERS ON A FALL TRAIL RIDE. HORSES ARE NOT USED TOO FREQUENTLY IN THE ADIRONDACK FOREST P by Anne LaBastille, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons. Cropped.

Bicycling Land Editors
Bicycling Land Editorshttps://bicyclingland.com/about/
The Bicycling Land editors research bikes, e-bikes and cycling gear for US riders. Recommendations are built on manufacturer specifications, independent reviews, owner reports and safety records, with every claim linked to its source. Read how we work on our editorial policy page.

Popular Guides

Related Articles